Adventures In Trying To Find A Home

So, I’m sure it’ll come as no real surprise that my family and I have been experiencing some financial issues. I mean, come on now, who hasn’t been having financial issues these days? In my neck of the woods (good old Flint Michigan), jobs are incredibly scarce, so while I don’t make a shit ton of money doing what I do, I realize that I’m incredibly lucky to still have a secure job.

Recently, we’ve had to… Relocate. Yes, we’ll go with relocate. At the moment, I’ve moved my little family in with my parents. Right into their 1 bedroom apartment. o_O Yeah… There are currently 4 adults and 1 little boy attempting not to step on each other. It’s actually not been all that difficult, really. I was expecting some problems simply due to 4 adults being packed into a small area and people getting under each other’s skin and what not, but there haven’t been any tiffs or pissed off moments or anything really. (That’s completely awesome, by the way.) And even though things are going well, we still want to get the hell out of Dodge. Love my parents and all, but I kinda like not living “at home”. Basically what it boils down to is that I like being the boss in my own home. That and I miss my cats something terrible.

We’ve been attempting to find a place that we can afford and that isn’t too deep in “the hood” ever since the relocation. That’s been about 3 weeks or so? I can’t remember the exact date right now, but it’s been a few weeks. Honestly, I didn’t think that finding some place that we could afford would be so hard given the state the economy has been in around this area for the last forever, but apparently there are still some people out there who are delusional enough to think that they can get someone to rent and/or buy a 2 bedroom house for more than $600 a month. Yeah… there’s a reason the place you’re trying to unload is STILL on the market, asshole.

Anyway.

Last week, we thought we were golden. Greg found this cute, little 2 bedroom place that wasn’t in a bad area and was in good condition. He met with the dude who owned and over the course of the next week or so, this guy had met with Greg, my mother, myself and my son. The last meeting was when my son and I were finally able to go see the place (stupid 3rd shift making me think I need to sleep during the day) and the guy let us wander around the place and let my son start to figure out which room he wanted to be his and what he was going to do in the basement so he could practice his Tae Kwon Do. After we were done looking around, he had us all go downtown so he could get the water transferred into our names and get his rental license. We found out after we got down there that the office that handles all that stuff is only open 9-1, which is nuts if you ask me.

While we were there, the guy realized that he locked his keys in his truck, so we took him back to his place to get the spare set and then he had us go up to a doughnut shop with him so we could go over the lease. We went over it, signed it and he gave us the keys. We told him it would probably be the end of the week before we could get him the money that he was asking for, but that he’d have by Friday and we’d be moving in that weekend. We then took him back to his truck and everything seemed to be fine.

We allowed ourselves to get excited about moving into a place that we happened across on a complete fluke. (Greg was actually looking at a different place, didn’t like the way it looked on the outside and decided to drive down the street to see if there were any other places available.) We went to visit the cats and told them that we’d be taking them home soon. I started planning on where I was going to put furniture and trying to figure out how long it would take to get Alex to school and myself to work.

A couple days later, we called him to verify the address. We drove by the place to double-check, but there were no numbers anywhere. When Greg asked him what the address was, he was told that we could no longer rent the place. Seems that someone had put in an offer to buy the house that he is currently living in, so he would be needing to move into the house that we had SIGNED A LEASE for. Oh, and could we please bring by the keys? They were the only set he had.

Needless to say, I was a tad pissed off.

It wouldn’t have been quite so bad had this guy not allowed my son to get excited. Disappoint me till your heart’s content. Yeah, I’ll be pissed, but chances are I’m not going to anything after the fact. Disappoint my boy, though, and you’ve just decided to tangle with Queen Bitch.

See, being that we this dude didn’t have his renter’s license when he insisted we sign the lease, means that he committed fraud. He also decided to charge more for the security deposit than he’s legally allowed to, not to mention the fact that there was NO NOTICE given in breaking the lease. I don’t like it when I get fucked with and I like it even less when my son is fucked with. This dude disappointed all of us. We are currently seeking legal advice to see if it’ll be worth it to go after his ass.

Oh, and something else that’s fucking nifty? Greg drove by the place yesterday and he’s NOT living in it. It’s still on the market. What.The.Hell. Maybe the fact that I told him I have some experience working with power tools freaked him out, being that I’m a girl and all. (He seriously had the balls to tell me that if I wanted a light bulb changed, I needed to call him cuzz he’d known women who’d ruined lights by not knowing what wattage to use. This was AFTER he introduced himself to me by asking me what kind of house keeper I am. o_O)

Honestly, even though I’m pissed as hell about the way things went down, I’m relatively certain that this is for the best. After all, I’m just a woman who wouldn’t know how to wash a fucking dish with out a man’s help. I’m sure we’d have gotten into “altercations”.

Yesterday, we signed a lease on a different place. It’s less money a month, the landlord isn’t gonna hover over me to make sure I wipe the counters in a counter-clockwise pattern and the one neighbor we met while we were looking at the place liked us and told the guy we needed to be the ones who moved in. YAY!

The one problem we’ve run into is that we were told by the Department of Human Services that we qualified for assistance to move into a new place, meaning that they would cover first month’s rent and security deposit. Well, I called yesterday and spoke with the person who told me we qualified only to find out that we no longer fall into the “emergency assistance” category. Seems we would need to be living either in my car, on the street or in a homeless shelter in order to qualify now. You’d think that this would have been something I was told about when I was told I qualified for help, but apparently that’s just not how it’s done. Oh, and if you happen to get through to the case workers instead of getting their voice mail, you completely fuck up their day and they’ll treat you like shit for it. (Ok, to be fair, I understand that the case workers where I’m at are INCREDIBLY over worked and tired and all that, but when you have a client call you and politely ask you to tell them what they need to do to receive the assistance that you told them they could get, it would probably be in the best interest of every one involved that you not be a complete dick. Just sayin’.)

Hopefully some other options that were available are still available and we can move this weekend. Keep your fingers crossed that things FINALLY start to go my way internets. I’d like to continue to be nothing but sweetness and light. šŸ˜€

  1. *headdesk*

    I’m sorry, dude.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

