Holy Crappin’ New Year

So, I rang in the New Year at work, per my usual routine of the last 5 or so years. 2010 was brought in with the sounds of shot guns being fired precisely at midnight. Awesome.  I did bring in my MP3 player, though,  so it’s not all that bad. I’ve listened to Beck, Barenaked Ladies, Eminem, Evans Blue (back when Kevin Matisyn was still singing) and Bullet For My Valentine so far. Not too shabby for only having it going for roughly an hour and a half.

I’d be lying if I didn’t say that I was glad to see 2009 bite the dust. While I’m sure it’s not been the worst year of my life, it did suck quite a bit. There was multiple piles of shit thrown my way in 2009 and toward the end, I finally began to see light again. Here’s to hoping that 2010 continues on that upward slope. Winning the lottery would be a great touch. Just sayin’.

I guess this is the part where I tell everyone about all the resolutions I’m making. Like, I’m guessing there are a few of you out there who want me to say that I’m gonna quit smoking this year. Psh. Right. While I’m not saying there’s no way in hell that I’m quitting, I’m not going to actively attempt. I still really like smoking and am actually looking forward to 0800 rolling around so I can go start my car and smoke a cigarette while I wait for it to warm up.

What I am planning on doing this year is yet another in the long list of cliché resolutions. I’ve decided that I’m going to lose weight. Yeah, I know. Billions of people have said that before and damned near all of them have failed. I have been part of the failing billionty people in this category, though I’ve never openly admitted that I was trying to lose weight. My thinking with that was if I told people and failed, then I would have to deal with them being disappointed and that’s just not something I like having over my head. Seems I’m one of those people who likes it when others are happy with them as opposed to disappointed. Don’t much care if I piss people off, but I don’t like letting anyone down. This year though, I think that by saying it and putting it out there, that it might help me actually follow through. Like, I’ll have the possibility of letting someone down as motivation. Not sure how well it’s gonna work, but I gotta do something. My son is 9 now and people are starting to doubt that my fluffiness is due to that pesky baby weight. o_O

I’m planning on going home from work and starting the P90X work out thing-a-bobs. Whether or not I actually accomplish that remains to be seen. I think this is probably going to be something that happens Monday after work, but most likely will start Tuesday. I know, I know, I’m already procrastinating. Thing is, I’m not exactly filled with energy when I get out of work. Keep in mind, I work 12 hour shifts, as opposed to the normal 8 hour days most people put in where ever they happen to work. So bite me. 🙂

Anyway, that’s what I will be hoping to carry out this year. Time to shed that 9-year-old baby fat and get back to being not so fluffy. I’m not looking to be ridiculously thin cuzz, well, I’ve never been ridiculously thin before. But not so fluffy would be a nice place to be. Who knows, if it works out, I might decide to post before and after pictures to brag about how awesome I look. Of course, that would require me to actually take before and after pictures and that’s not all that likely. We’ll see though.

    • Dennis Maynard
    • January 2nd, 2010

    Thankfully i was able to quit smoking for 5 months. Started back and quit again. If you quit it will help me to keep it up. I would also like to be one to see them before and after pictures:)

    • Well, when I DO decide to quit, I’ll be sure to let you know. 🙂 As for the before and after pictures, well, I’m pretty iffy about taking before ones. Not too fond of showing off my fluff. LOL

    • Dennis Maynard
    • January 2nd, 2010

    Annba is fluffy and i love to look adore every bit of it:) btw she knows i am responding:p

    • Dennis Maynard
    • January 3rd, 2010

    You’re telling me i am the one who wants to marry her:)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

