In which I have nothing better to do

Yeah. Things are full of excitement around here these days. Not being able to go to work or drive myself anywhere has made me into a hermit. o_O I went to the gas station the other day with Greg. That was the first time I had been out of the house since I went to see my cardiologist on Tuesday.

See? I told you it was exciting around here.

So, I got a diagnosis from the cardiologist. It explains why I passed out and why I might pass out again at any time, but it doesn’t explain the dizziness. Hopefully I’ll be on the track to figuring that out when I visit the neurologist on Monday. I’m expecting to be booked for shit tons of tests, yet again. I’m not really all that fond of being poked and prodded, but it’s pretty much been the norm for the last 6 years, so I’m used to it, I guess. It’s something that will get me the hell out of the house at least.

I need to get with my family doctor to see about resuming the poking and prodding to figure out how to get rid of my pain, but it seems he’s more concerned with figuring all this shit out first. I can understand why, but at the same time, I’d like to finally have a day where I was hurting, too, ya know?

Bleh.

At any rate, being cooped up inside has gotten my house keeping back on track. Sort of. The kitchen, living room and bathroom are pretty well-kept up, which is awesome. I suck when it comes to doing dishes, so the fact that I’ve stayed on top of them is kinda miraculous. I’ve been known to just say “Screw it” and toss out dirty dishes that I’ve let sit for too long and just buy new ones, if that tells you anything about my affair with being a dishwasher. I’d be happier than a pig in shit to simply use disposable dishes and plug up the landfills even more. Yeah, I know that’s not exactly very green of me, but I loathe dishes like none other.

Baby Mae has taken to rubbing up on my arms vigorously while I clean cuzz she can’t get to my chin to bite it. I MUST have music playing while I clean or else I can’t do it properly (Seriously. If there’s no music, my cleaning is HORRIBLE.), and when music is playing, I have to sing along. It’s required. I guess since she can’t bite my chin, she thinks that rubbing my arms and making me drop shit is just as good. Today, she was trying to get me to drop a plate I was drying off and managed to knock herself off the counter. It was spectacular! I really need to set up a camera or something so I can get these things on video. I would TOTALLY win grand prize on AFV. 😛

Um… Still no progress on my writing. I wasn’t really expecting there to be, though. I’ve had writer’s block for quite sometime and had managed to spit out 2 new poems, but that’s been it. (They were in my book, so they’re toast.) I’ve had bits and pieces of ideas, but nothing I consider good enough to put on paper. Maybe that’ll change soon, though. There’s always hope, right?

I’ve also run out of books to read, which has me kinda bummed out. I’m reading the last book in the whole house that I haven’t read at least twice before. Clive Barker’s The Hellbound Heart. (For those who don’t know, that’s the novella that inspired the movie, Hellraiser.) Greg got it back when we had a little money cuzz he LOVES Hellraiser and had wanted to read it for a while. I’ve gotta say, the differences between the two are interesting. Some of the things that they changed for the movie don’t make sense to me. Not that it’s different from the story line or takes away from the story or anything like that. I just don’t understand why they changed them. The book is pretty damned good. I’m kinda annoyed that I haven’t read it sooner.

Other than that, not too much else has been going on. A bunch of firefighters and police officers got laid off, which has me seriously considering getting a gun and my CCW. (Yeah, I think I just saw a bunch of you jump back from your computers and look for places to hide. Wise choice. :-P) Things around here (well, not specifically HERE here, but in the city in general) were pretty nasty to begin with and I’m sure it’s only gonna escalate now. Pretty sad, really, especially considering that downtown has been getting back to the way it used to be. Hopefully they’ll be able to find some money in the budget somewhere to get these people back on the job before too long.

And yeah. That’s pretty much it. The boy is home for the weekend, which is different. That means I can make him clean his room, which will be happening in about half an hour. That will also be around the time that I am going to sit my fat ass on the couch and do my nails. Mwahahaha! Hermit Mom® is going to have a GREAT Saturday. 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

