The one where I grow concerned that girlyness may be taking me over

So, anyone who knows me at all (even if it’s just through here or the occasional drive-by friend) knows that I am not your typical girly girl. I don’t do dresses. I loathe the color pink. I don’t get all screamy and weepy when I hear about sparkly vampires. I’d prefer to jump in a mosh pit rather than go to a Miley Cyrus concert. *shudder* (Somehow, I think I missed my mark with Miley, but she’s the only person I could think of for some reason.) Lately, though, I’ve been leaning towards more girly things.

Example. I’ve always been one to wear make-up. ALWAYS. For a long time, that’s pretty much the only girly thing I had going for me. Well, that and the fact that I need to carry a purse. Nothing expensive or anything like that, but I’ve carried a purse since junior high. Oh, and shoes. I heart me some shoes. Again, nothing expensive, I just feel like I need to have shoes. LOTS of shoes. Recently though, I’ve decided that I want to get some dresses. o_O This has me slightly concerned, considering that I’ve only ever had two occasions where I felt that wearing a dress or skirt was pretty much a necessity – weddings and funerals.

My friend is having a party this weekend and I feel a need to buy and WEAR a summery dress. Mind you, my friend most likely will not be wearing a dress and, I’m not certain, but I’m pretty sure there won’t be many chicks there wearing dresses. I reallyreallyreally want to wear a summery dress and cute sandals. This is going to be an issue cuzz not only do I not own anything that comes anywhere NEAR that description, but I do not have the money to buy anything that fits that description. And the fact that I can’t go shopping so I can get something like that really pisses me off, which also has me concerned.

Maybe it’s the losing 20 lbs thing. Maybe there’s something in the water. Whatever the case, I feel a need to have pretty things and to be pretty. Thankfully I still loathe pink or else I’d think I’d gone full-out girl and have to lock myself in my room until I got over it.

Anyone else feeling somewhat not like themselves lately? Maybe it has something to do with it being really warm earlier than usual? Help me out here, intarwebs!

    • Mary Remington
    • May 25th, 2010

    I dont find anything really too out of whack here. You pretty much answerd your own quandry. You LOST 20lbs. That would be enough motivation for me, i hate dresses too. and, Its is so nice, and warm out. I hope you figure out something, and you should put up some pics when you get that dress. even thoe it was somewhat forced, how do you feel having that much weight gone? (j/w). I would like to feel the loss of 20 lbs. Let us all know about that dress issue.

    • Meh. It feels ok. Now, if I drop ANOTHER 20 or 30 lbs, I think I might notice a real difference. 😛 At the moment, ALL of my pants fall down. I even have a pair of jeans that make me feel like I’m trying to be a gangsta cuzz they sag past my ass! o_O

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

